We find FMT’s report on Cynthia Gabriel and Jerald Joseph really shameful and irresponsible. The original FMT report does not name them. But now, another account, evidently based on the report, has named them and is making baseless accusations. It looks like some people are out to get the couple and even depict NGOs as irresponsible.

Both Cynthia and Jerald were exposed to the virus. They told their colleagues, friends and family right from the beginning. They rightly reported to the authorities and were quarantined; and now they have fully recovered and have been discharged.

They hid nothing and were under no obligation to hold a press conference.

The anonymous NGO leader quoted by FMT violated both Cynthia and Jerald’s right to privacy. FMT failed to meet basic ethical journalistic standards by not immediately contacting the persons being reported for an accurate account and respecting their right to reply.

We urge FMT editor Abdar Rahman Koya and journalist Faiz Zainudin to retract the report and apologize to Cynthia and Jerald for the distress caused.

Signed and Endorsed by CSO leaders

  1. Adrian Pereira, North South Initiative
  2. Andrew Aeria, CIVICA Research
  3. Andrew Khoo
  4. Asha Singh, Health Equity Initiatives
  5. Azrul Mohd Khalib, Galen Centre for Health & Social Policy
  6. Badlishah Sham Baharin, Pertubuhan IKRAM Malaysia
  7. 7 Benjamin Thompson, MyPJ
  8. Bina Ramanand FSSG
  9. Chong Yee Shan
  10. Cletus de Rozario, Community Action Network
  11. Dorathy Benjamin, EMPOWER Malaysia
  12. Dr. Sharuna Verghis, Health Equity Initiatives
  13. Eugene Yapp, GBM Coalition
  14. Fadiah Nadwa Fikri, Center to Combat Corruption and Cronyism
  15. Faribel Maglin, Pusat KOMAS
  16. G.S.Nijar
  17. Glorene A Das, TENAGANITA
  18. Henry Koh, Beyond Borders Malaysia
  19. Ho Yock Lin
  20. Isaac Stephen Anthonysamy, Community Action Network
  21. Ivy Josiah
  22. Jeffrey FK Phang, MyPJ
  23. Katrina Jorene Maliamauv
  24. Lim Chee Han, Agora Society
  25. Kevin De Rozario, Community Action Network
  26. Mahi Ramakrishnan, Beyond Borders Malaysia
  27. Meera Samanther, Women’s Aid Organisation
  28. Michael Jok, SCRIPS
  29. Muhammad SHA’ANI bin Abdullah
  30. Nathaniel Tan, POWR
  31. Ng Geok Chee KLSCAH Women Division
  32. Nisha Sabanayagam, AWAM
  33. Noor Farida Ariffin, G25
  34. PH Wong, Childline
  35. Rizal Rozhan
  36. Robyn Choi
  37. Sabrina Melissa Aripen, SERATA
  38. Sevan Doraisamy, SUARAM
  39. Sha Kok Tein
  40. Shanthi Dairiam, Women’s Aid Organisation
  41. Sudhagaran Stanley
  42. Suguna Papachan, Persatuan Sahabat Wanita Selangor
  43. Tan Yew Sing, Gabungan Bertindak Malaysia
  44. Terence Gomez, Center to Combat Corruption and Cronyism
  45. Thomas Fann, Bersih 2.0
  46. Thomas Jalong, Jaringan Orang Asal SeMalaysia
  47. Tijah Yok Chopil, Jaringan Kampung Orang Asli Semenanjung Malaysia
  48. Wan Shakila, Borneo Komrad
  49. Winnie Yee, Sabah Women’s Action Group
  50. Wong Chin Huat, ENGAGE
  51. Yap Swee Seng, Bersih 2.0
  52. Yu Ren Chung, Women’s Aid Organisation
  53. Zaharom Nain, GERAK